The Real Protest

“It’s happening now. Not tomorrow.” – David Bowie, Outside 1994

The Gen-Xers are more picky than the companies are. I never knew the change would come through being spoiled, but it has.

Right now I’m doing an all-new IT Recruitment Website and the company I’m doing it for is flabbergasted about an experience they had with a Gen-Xer candidate who turned down like, I believe her ideal job just because the company in question pissed her off. As a result the owner calls me up and says: “I want the website to be catered to YOUR generation.” It was the first time in my web career someone that owned a company really had ‘endowment’ in the right area, if you get my drift.

I’ve been hearing about recruiters having frustrations with younger, generation-x candidates for web, not taking jobs they really ‘should have’ taken. This is so funny. My father and I have the same difficulty.

What did they expect? We’re the instant gratification generation, even more than the baby boom-disposable income kids: the hippies gone yuppies (my Dad) who ended up being forced into a lower standard of living, only to turn the highest standard of living ever known to mankind in all 100,000 or whatever years of human history–over to their kids: us.

I remember what I grew up with: 7-hour Saturday morning cartoons and complaints about not having movie night, every night. Restaurant night, every weekend.

So last year I was 33 and my father walks into my apartment in Crystal City near D.C. and asks why exactly one needs a 70″ LED Screen. I answer with bravado: I don’t need a 70″, I want the wall to be a TV. I want better than 1080p, I want Kinect, Pizza delivery via my Kinect with cable TV going on in the background, beers, vodka, and I won’t work unless it’s from home–even if I can’t pay the bills.

His naive eyes then roll over the XBox, the PS3, the redundant games we bought cause we couldn’t find one or two of them probably still left in our closet, buried. They lay scattered all over the soft carpeted floor, the nicely warmed condo overlooking the city, both our Macs standing on either side of the Monolith HD Screen like sentries or sphinx, forever guarding our feasts. That Steve Jobs would guarantee our freedom from the Corporate consumer life (basically communist in a weird way) into a realer capitalism. I love capitalism. The Unknown Ideal!

Rotten teeth? Who cares. Death? Who cares. As long as we can have our vices our cake, eat it too, then eat Pizza. Were the bravest generation only because of what brats we are. The question is not: “Where is my iPad?” Because the answer is iPad2, not my frickin’ old ass iPad 1 sitting there in the corner. Why not sell it? It’s buried under laundry. Who wants to do the dishes anyway? Not me.

As the late great Marshall McLuhan I will forever constantly site, has foreseen since the 50’s: That with every newer generation, is a newer level of community involvement. This is where capitalism merges with tribalism to become something we’ve never seen embodied in a medium we are but deer in the headlights to. That is, unless you’re me. Ha.

That’s us, that’s Gen-X. I never knew the great decentralizing social change of our era would be due to a child’s resentment of ‘The Man.’

The Lord works in mysterious ways.

Leave a Reply

