These are those days.

My father in his eloquent 40s once said: 

“well Neal what it looks like is that well be living in an ultra technological society of haves and the have nots…”

At another point he said “you see these Neal” (holds up debit and credit cards) “these are membership cards to an exclusive club: it’s called the middle-class.”

What happened? 

Now that it is that system of haves and have nots, he finds himself a have. And hence, denies the fact that we’re living in a system of haves and have-nots. 

I mean, he actually and literally thinks the economy is okay and that we’ll pull through.

Not likely. 

Now he talks about being pro-Israel and how we’re helping Syria.

As-if.

Now that he is almost 70, he doesn’t talk about any of those things. 

That is, people say things and when those things actually come to pass, it’s as if they’d never said them. 

The self-development enough to connect two disparate points of time in ones life is not a cheap commodity. 

His mother, my Nana once said:

“when I get to the point where I can’t remember anything and I’m going senile, just take me out back and shoot me… ”

Once this came to pass, My dad said in lieu of this: “well these are those days, and it’s not like we’re going to take her out the back and shoot her, is it?”

But when you think about it and in light of current events and the way the world is going maybe that’s exactly what people should be doing. 

That is, to enjoy a shorter life and do all the things that you wanted to do, rather than a longer life in which none of the things you wanted to do, we’re done–is the real point of life. 

I used to scoff at people who said they were going to commit suicide at 60 or 70 out of their own free will. 

 They just don’t want to suffer the way they have seen people suffer. 

The way I have seen people sacrifice for nothing but ants buying and building more ant hills.
Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

